IMPAC Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award has been announced, the Guardian reports. The selected books are:

Graceland by Chris Abani
Maps for Lost Lovers by Nadeem Aslam
Havoc, In Its Third Year by Ronan Bennett
The Closed Circle by Jonathan Coe
An Altered Light by Jens Christian Grondahl – translated from the Danish by Anne Born
The Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra – translated from the French by John Cullen
Breaking the Tongue by Vyvyane Loh
Don’t Move by Margaret Mazzantini – translated from the Italian by John Cullen
The Master by Colm Toibin
The Logogryph by Thomas Wharton

You can view the longlist here. Last year’s winning book was The Known World by Edward P. Jones. In 2004, it was This Blinding Absence of Light by Tahar Ben Jelloun.