Award News

This year, the National Book Award Foundation will honor Norman Mailer and Lawrence Ferlinghetti, the first with a medal his work, the second with a special new prize:

Mailer, 82, is to receive the foundation’s medal “for distinguished contribution to American letters,” while Ferlinghetti will be given a new prize, the Literarian Award for “outstanding service to the American literary community.”

Previous winners of the NBA medal include Philip Roth, Arthur Miller and Toni Morrison.