IMPAC Longlist Announced

The longlist for the 2005 IMPAC award has been announced. The BBC’s report focuses on the inclusion of previous Booker winner DBC Pierre, Whitbread winner Mark Haddon, and other high-profile authors, but the longlist is quite diverse–you can see it on the IMPAC website. It includes Diana Abu-Jaber (for Crescent) and Rachel Cusk (for The Lucky Ones) among many others. The winner will be announced next June. The 2004 award went to Moroccan author Tahar Ben Jelloun.