Super Booker

An offshoot of the Man Booker Prize, currently called the International Man Booker Prize or “Super Booker,” is being launched this week. The prize will be biennial, and it will award 60,000 to a writer from anywhere in the world for their “literary achievement.” Names being mentioned include Naipaul, Roth, Atwood, Updike, and Marquez.

The judging panel for the new prize will be led by Professor John Carey, who chaired the Booker last year when Pierre triumphed. He will be joined by a man and a woman who will be named in the next few days but who have already met to discuss their early thoughts.
The international prize’s administrator, publisher Ion Trewin, said: “We have someone who broadly speaking represents the Americas and someone who comes from a Middle Eastern direction.
“We wanted to get away from an Anglo-Saxon approach. Unlike the annual prize there’s no set list of books. It’s up to the judges to draw up their own.”