Impac Longlist Announced

The longlist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award has been announced, with A.S. Byatt, J.M. Coetzee, and Jeffrey Eugenides making the cut, among many others. The (hefty) prize is international: It’s open to any author, for a work in any language, and nominations are made by librarians around the world. This makes for an eclectic longlist, with such selections as Tahar Ben Jelloun for This Blinding Absence of Light, or Ismail Kadare for Spring Flowers, Spring Frost. Last year’s winner was Orhan Pamuk for My Name is Red. Visit the IMPAC website for the full longlist.