Amanda Ngozi Adichie of Nigeria, Florent Couoa-Zotti of Benin, Allan Kolski Horwitz of South Africa, Rory Kilalea of Zimbabwe, and Binyanvanga Wainaina of Kenya are finalists for the Caine Prize. I mention this prize because the chair of the jury is Ahdaf Soueif, whom I’m absolutely obsessed with, for reasons that are not entirely clear to me, but that perhaps have to do with the fact that she wrote In the Eye of the Sun.

Anyway, here is the BBC article, via Moby Lives.

Update on July 16: Binyanvanga Wainaina won the Caine Prize. Congratulations to him.